Golden Pint Awards 2011

So 2011 was the year I truly discovered great beer. I’ve drank a lot of the stuff over the past 12 months & met tons of great people along the way. Done my best to pick a ‘winner’ for each category but it wasn’t easy. Here goes…

Best UK Draught (Cask or Keg) Beer
1st – Summer Wine Diablo (Keg) – Not for the faint hearted, I think it scores somewhere around a million IBUs… Love it!
Runner up – Magic Rock Human Cannonball (Keg) – Topped off a hoptastic IPA day!

Best UK Bottled or Canned Beer
1st – Brewdog AB:06 – Tastes like liquid chocolate orange, delicious.
Runner up – Kernel 100 Centennial IPA – I think a lot of Kernel IPAs deserved a mention but this one was the jewel in their IPA crown for me.

Best Overseas Draught Beer
1st – Odell IPA – I’ll never forget my 1st sip of this at the Free Trade Inn. Stunning!
Runner up – Southern Tier Mokah – This sort of beer is good enough to have as a dessert, yum!

Best Overseas Bottled or Canned Beer
1st – Stone Sublimely Self Righteous Ale – AMAZING!
Runner up – Flying Dog Raging Bitch – @zakavery was right, terrible name but brilliant beer.

Best Overall Beer
1st – Any IPA from The Kernel, they always hit the spot!

Best Pumpclip or Label
Pumpclip – Magic Rock – New brewery who got their branding spot on from the start.
Labels – Odell – They aren’t beer labels, they are works of art!

Best UK Brewery
1st – Kernel – Pretty sure I have had more beers from them than any other brewery. Yet to be disappointed by a single one.
Runner up – Summer Wine – 2 great guys who keep knocking out top notch beers that really satisfy my hop cravings.

Best Overseas Brewery
1st – Stone – The kings of US craft brewing.
Runner up – Odell – Really glad we can get a good range of their beers in the UK. Did I mention the labels?

Pub/Bar of the Year
1st – Free Trade Inn – Besides all the excellent beer it offers the best view from any pub I’ve been to. I just wish I got there more often!
Runner up – Mr Foley’s – Dean is extremely passionate about bringing great beers to the people of Leeds & it shows.
Honourable mentions – Northbar (Leeds), Bacchus (Newcastle), Craft Beer Co. (London), Cask Pub & Kitchen (London).

Beer Festival of the Year
It has to be #twissup in Newcastle. A day of great beer & great company all taking place in the Toon!

Supermarket of the Year
1st – Waitrose
Runner up – Sainsbury’s

Independent Retailer of the Year
1st – Beer Ritz – It’s the greatest beer shop in the world god dammit!
Runner up – Rehill’s (Jesmond, Newcastle) – You’ll always find a brilliant selection of beer at this place. They need to get on Twitter…
Honourable mention – Coppers (Gosforth, Newcastle) – This shop keeps getting better & better.

Online Retailer of the Year
1st – My Brewery Tap – I haven’t bought much beer online but when I have this lot have provided an excellent service. They get some truly amazing beers in stock!

Best Beer Book or Magazine
1st – 500 Beers (Zak Avery)

Best Beer Blog or Website
1st – The Beer Boy – The 1st beer blog I read, turns out Zak is a genius in this field 🙂
Runner up – Ghost Drinker – What this guy doesn’t know about beer isn’t worth knowing. Always writes with a good sense of humour.
Honourable mentions – The Good Stuff, Beer Prole, Eating isn’t Cheating. There are many more blogs I enjoy reading, too many to mention!

Best Beer Twitterer
1st – @rickfurzer – This guy knows his booze (amongst other things) Always so willing to give advice, great chap!
Runner up – @broadfordbrewer – Really friendly bloke & always a good laugh. Pretty good home brewer too! Thanks for the free beer 😉
Honourable mentions – Anyone I have had conversations with over the past year, far too many to mention but you all know who you are.

Best Online Brewery presence
1st – Summer Wine
Runner up – Magic Rock

Food and Beer Pairing of the Year
Has to be The Kernel Export Stout & Citra IPA with Prosciutto ham & Comte cheese while sat outside the brewery itself. One of my favourite memories of 2011.

In 2012 I’d Most Like To…
Keep drinking great beer, simple!

Open Category: Best beer related event of the year
The day spent at Rooster’s Brewery. Fantastic day & an absolute pleasure to have been invited.

PT

About tuff86

I'm fairly new to the world of great beer but I have loved every minute of it. I am constantly trying new beers & learning as much as possible about this versatile liquid. I aim to blog many of my experiences along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Golden Pint Awards 2011

  1. rfurzer says:

    Paul – mate, don’t know what to say – that’s really kind. Thanks. Though I reckon for pure giggles Dan (@danielvane) & Simon (@simonhjohnson) are comedy gold.

    It’s been a great year hasn’t it? What’s really struck me is how feckin nice everyone is in the beer industry. Bar none, all really good people who are open and welcoming to new geeks like the two of us.

    Did you brew at Roosters? If not get yourself on a brew-day? Reckon you’d love it. That’s my aim for 2012 – learning more about and being involved in brewing beer.

    Looking forward to a cracking 2012. Cheers!

    • tuff86 says:

      Hi Rick, your more than welcome! It’s been an absolute pleasure communicating with you on Twitter over the past year. Yes those guys are great, as everyone on Twitter is really I’ve loved using it. It’s become essential really.

      Totally agree with how open & friendly everyone in the industry seems to be. It’s part of what has made it all so appealing to me.

      I didn’t brew at Rooster’s, was just a gathering of beer geeks but I’d love to do a brew day. Something I should have said I’d like to do in 2012 but I gave a lazy answer 😉

      Here’s to a great 2012!

      Paul

  2. Phil says:

    Some fantastic choices most of which pretty much echo my own. Twissup in the Toon was a blast, great city, great beers, great folks

    • tuff86 says:

      Thanks. Found it extremely hard to pick a winner for each category, so many beers / brewers / people have been great in 2011. Sort of didn’t want to leave anyone out really but thought it was best to give it a go than to not bother with them at all. Was great to see Twissup in Newcastle in my 1st year as a beer geek 🙂

  3. Why thank you Paul, kind of you to say so. It’s been a fantastic year for me personally as far as beer is concerned (and Twitter – it’s nice to be able to find people such as yourself at the push of a button and chat beer), I ‘found’ beer this year and won’t forget it….really enjoyed the IPA Day and it was great to be able to meet you and share some tasty beer! Very excited about 2012 and who knows, that homebrew might find its way to the next level *unlikely but you never know*. Cheers!

    • tuff86 says:

      Hi David. 2011 was definitely an eye opening year for me & I loved every step of the beery adventure & it’s definitely a big part of my life now. Twitter was a revelation for me, never thought I could communicate with some many like minded people, everyone has been so helpful & friendly. Was great to meet you on IPA day & hopefully we will get the chance to meet again in 2012.

      You just keep that dream in your head mate, I’m sure the day will come when it turns to reality. Can’t deny that you know how to make tasty beer!

      Paul

Leave a Reply

